School Logo

Great Gidding C of E (VC) School

Growing Great Learners

Search Search


Welcome to our Governors’ section.


Governor profiles


Fiona Brampton

Details to follow


Julie Byard

I am the Chair of the Resources Committee and have been on the Governing Body here at Great Gidding since my son, James, started at the school in 2011.  My first job as a governor was to sort out a website for the school, which is now, superseded by this more pupil friendly site!  
I work as a freelance scientist developing medical devices for hospitals. Outside of work I am a bit of a geek; enjoying tinkering with computers, and playing Minecraft with my son. I also enjoy Geocaching, reading and cooking, when time permits.


Denise Egbury

My name is Denise Egbury, married with two children.  I relocated from South Yorkshire two years ago, where I worked in a Primary School as a School Business Manager.  I enjoy the Primary School setting, and was invited to  join the Governing Body in 2016. I enjoy swimming, fitness classes, walking, cake decorating and sewing when I have the time.


Dawn England

Details to follow


John Gwinnup

Details to follow


Suki Hinton

I am very proud to be the Headteacher of Great Gidding Church of England Primary School and work with such creative and dedicated staff.
When I’m not at school, I love spending time with my family and friends and walking with Milo.
I’m passionate about storytelling and can either be found with my nose in book, or watching a film!


Sue Shepherd

Details to follow


Joanne Taylor

I would like to take the opportunity to introduce myself as the Chair of the Governing Body.  I first joined the Governing Body as a Co-opted Governor in 2014 when my daughter joined in Year 3.  I became Chair of the Resources Committee in 2016 and subsequently Chair of Governors in early 2019.

My professional background is in Programme and Change Management in both Operational and Enterprise Technology genres. 

Through personal experience, I have developed a strong affection for our school and the ethos that it fosters.  I feel extremely proud to be associated with Great Gidding School and have tremendous admiration for the teachers and staff who always go the extra mile to enable every child to reach their potential.

If at any time you would like to contact me or any member of the Governing Body, please leave a message for me with the school office or email on
Joanne Taylor
Chair of Governors





Standing Orders for Governing Body


Name Role Term of office ends Committees/named Governor role
Caroline Lewis

Clerk to Governors  

N/A All committees
Julie Byard LA Governor/Chair of Resources June 2021


Link Governor:



Denise Egbury


Co-opted Governor

Feb 2024

Resources Committee

Link Governor:

Safeguarding (with JT)




Appointment awaiting confirmation by Diocese Foundation Governor  


Resources Committee

VACANCY Foundation Governor    
Fiona Brampton Ex Officio Foundation Governor (Priest in Charge) N/A

Resources Committee

Link Governor:

Religious Education

John Gwinnup Parent Governor Nov 2023


Dawn England Parent Governor Nov 2023


Link Governor:

Sports Premium 

Joanne Taylor Chair of Governors /Co-opted Governor

July 2023

All Committees

Link Governor:

Safeguarding (with DE)

Pupil Premium

Health & Safety/Premises

Suki Hinton Headteacher N/A All committees
VACANCY Staff Governor   Achievements